North Carolina Healthconnx

My Clients is working with the NC HIEA to build a connection to NC HealthConnex.  In the meantime, as long as you have completed a Participation Agreement with the NC HIEA, you will be in compliance with the state laws.  New participants who are mandated to connect and will automatically receive an extension if they are still in the queue to connect on their deadline.Participation agreements can be found here.You may not be subject to connect to submit data to NC Health Connex until June 2021 at the earliest. Certain providers are exempt entirely from the legislation. See here if this applies to you.

Per NCGS § 90-414.4 (a2) the NC HIEA, in consultation with the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), has established a process to grant limited extensions of the time for providers and entities to connect to NC HealthConnex and begin submitting data as required by law.
What Does the Law Mandate? | NC Health Information Exchange Authority
Through a law passed in 2015, the North Carolina Health Information Exchange Authority (NC HIEA) was created to oversee and administer the NC Health Information Exchange Network (NCGS 90-414.7). The NC HIEA is housed within the NC Department of Information Technology’s (DIT) Government Data Analytics Center (GDAC). The NC HIEA operates North Carolina’s statewide health information exchange—NC HealthConnex.

Changes to the Health Information Exchange Act Signed into Law June 6

On June 6, Governor Cooper signed into law House Bill 70, now N.C. Session Law 2019-23. The legislation delays the June 1, 2019, deadline until June 1, 2020. Additionally, licensed physicians whose primary area of practice is psychiatry now have until June 1, 2021, to connect. Further, SL 2019-23 now exempts certain provider types from the mandatory requirement to connect and send data to the Health Information Exchange network, NC HealthConnex. The following provider types have the option to connect on a voluntary basis, however, they are no longer required to connect:

  • Community-based, long-term services and supports providers, including personal care services, private duty nursing, home health and hospice care providers.
  • Intellectual and developmental disability services and supports providers, such as day supports and supported living providers.
  • Community Alternatives Program waiver services (including CAP/DA, CAP/C and Innovations) providers.
  • Eye and vision services providers.
  • Speech, language, and hearing services providers.
  • Occupational and physical therapy providers.
  • Durable medical equipment providers.
  • Nonemergency medical transportation service providers.
  • Ambulance (emergency medical transportation service) providers.
  • Local education agencies and school-based health providers.

For more information, see FAQs regarding the legislative changes.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us